News Details

IITM Diamond Jubilee Foundation Day Celebrations-2022 (60 Anniversary)

Institute celebrated it's Diamond Jubilee Foundation Day (60th  Anniversary) on 17th November 2022. Dr. M. Ravichandran, Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences was the Chief Guest of the foundation day function.  Prof. R.N. Keshavamurty, Former Director IITM, Pune Govt. of India, and Prof. Jagadish Shukla, Managing Director, COLA, Professor, Climate Dynamics, George Mason University, USA were the Guests of Honour.

Watch Foundation Day program online:

1) Scientific Session (0920 – 1330)

2) Scientific Brainstorming Discussion (1100 – 1330):

3) IITM Diamond Jubilee Foundation Day Function (1500 – 1700)

Click here to view the Agenda

Highlights of the Event:

Welcome address was presented by Dr. R. Krishnan, Director, IITM.

The Foundation Day function covered Scientific Session and IITM Diamond Jubilee Foundation Day Event.

Scientific Session: Opening of the Session by Dr. M. Ravichandran, Secretary, MoES,  address by Prof. R. N. Keshavamurty, Prof. Jagadish Shukla delivered foundation day lecture and gave his personal retrospective on "IITM: The Dawn of a New Era of Weather and Climate Science in India". Brainstorming Discussion was held on the topic ‘Improving Monsoon Forecasts in a Changing Climate’.

Watch Scientific Brainstorming Discussion:

IITM Diamond Jubilee Foundation Day Event:

Welcoming the Chief Guest and Guests of Honour, Invocation and Lighting of Lamp.

Dr. R. Krishnan, Director IITM presented the Welcome address and briefed about the Institute's achievements and activities of the Institute over the last 60 years.

Dr. M. Ravichandran presented the IITM Diamond Jubilee Foundation Day address.

Lightning Alert Damini App in Regional Languages and High-resolution Forecast Model were launched at the hands of  Dr. M. Ravichandran and Prof. R. N. Keshavamurty respectively. Prof. Pisharoty Award for the year 2022 was conferred to Dr. Jasti S. Chowdhari and Dr. Shivsai Dixit on this occasion.

Dr. Suryachandra A. Rao presented the vote of thanks.

View Photo-Gallary

View Press Release